Follow

Shut Down Options

What are the differences in the various shutdown options I have?

Sleep Mode

Follow either the Windows or Mac instructions below to put your computer into sleep mode.

Sleep mode turns off some of your hardware to save your battery, but it still uses a bit of power to save your data for quickly resuming your computer use. While the computer is in sleep mode, information that is currently in computer memory is not saved to your hard disk. If there is an interruption in power (such as your battery dying), information in computer memory will be lost. Because of this, you may want to save your work before you place your computer into sleep mode.

To return from sleep mode press the power button or open the lid of your laptop.

Windows
Windows

In Windows you can either

  • Close the lid of your laptop and wait for a few seconds for the sleep indicator light to start pulsing, or
  • Select sleep from the Start Menu.

To select sleep from the Start Menu:

  1. Click on the Windows symbol to reveal the Start Menu.
  2. Click on the arrow next to Shut down
  3. From the drop-down menu, select Sleep
Mac
Mac

In Mac you can either

  • Close the lid of your laptop and wait for a few seconds, or
  • Select Sleep from the Apple Icon in the menu bar at the top-left of your screen.

To select Sleep from the Apple menu:

  1. Click the Apple Icon at the top-left of your screen.
  2. Select Sleep from the drop-down menu.

Hibernate

When a computer enters hibernation, the current state of the computer is saved to the disk, and the power to the computer is turned off. When a computer wakes from hibernation, it reads the current state data from the disk and restores the system to the state that it was in before it entered hibernation. All programs that were running are restarted, and network connections are restored.

Windows
Windows

Use this feature by going to Start...Shut down, and selecting Hibernate from the drop down list.

  1. Click on the Windows symbol to reveal the Start Menu.
  2. Click on the arrow next to Shut down
  3. From the drop-down menu, select Hibernate
Mac

Hibernate is not an option in the Mac OS. Instead, you should use the sleep mode option described above.

Shut Down

Shut down is the most basic option you have. This option will completely log you out and shut off the laptop. No data that was open will be saved.

Windows
Windows
  1. Click on the Windows symbol to reveal the Start Menu.
  2. Click Shut down
Mac  
Mac  
  1. Click the Apple Icon at the top-left of your screen.
  2. Select Shut Down... from the drop-down menu.

Restart

This option is similar to shut down except that it will also reboot the machine and eventually take you back to the logon screen.

 

Windows
Windows
  1. Click on the Windows symbol to reveal the Start Menu.
  2. Click on the arrow next to Shut down
  3. From the drop-down menu, select Restart
Mac
Mac
  1. Click the Apple Icon at the top-left of your screen.
  2. Select Restart from the drop-down menu.

Log Off

This option will log you off of the machine and return you to the initial logon screen.

Windows
Windows  (Copy)
  1. Click on the Windows symbol to reveal the Start Menu.
  2. Click on the arrow next to Shut down
  3. From the drop-down menu, select Log off
Mac
Mac  (Copy)
  1. Click the Apple Icon at the top-left of your screen.
  2. Select Log Out User Name from the drop-down menu.

Contact Support Central

Was this article helpful?
1 out of 1 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk